Parents Centre

Waitemata Parents Centre

Waitemata Parents Centre

Childbirth Education (Antenatal)

 
Our Antenatal classes prepare new parents physically and emotionally for the changes during pregnancy and labour.

Our courses are either held over 6 weeks (run once a week on a Tuesday, or Thursday evening) or, during the Christmas period, held over a few weekend days with a shared lunch. We hold classes regularly throughout the year.

Topics covered in the course include:
' Signs of labour
' The labour process
' The role of the support person
' Pain management
' Infant feeding

Also included in the course is a Practical Parenting session (bathing baby, clothes to buy, different nappies, parent panel for questions and answers). North Shore hospital no longer operates tours of the maternity facilities, a virtual tour can now be viewed on-line here.

Our courses are very popular and fill up quickly, so please enquire early on in your pregnancy to ensure you secure a place.

 

Our dates for 2018/2019 are:

Course Start Date Course End Date Due Date Range
Tues 2nd Oct 2018 Tues 6th Nov 2018 December 2018 - FULL
*Sat 1st Dec 2018 *Sat 8th Dec 2018 Jan - Feb 2019 - FULL
*Sat 12th Jan 2019 *Sat 19th Jan 2019 March 2019
Tues 29th Jan 2019 Tues 5th Mar 2019 April 2019
Thurs 28th Feb 2019 Thurs 4th Apr 2019 May 2019
Tues 19th Mar 2019 Tues 23rd Apr 2019 June 2019
Tues 7th May 2019 Tues 11th Jun 2019 July 2019
Thurs 6th Jun 2019 Thurs 11th Jul 2019 August 2019
Tues 25th Jun 2019 Tues 30th Jul 2019 September 2019
Tues 13th Aug 2019 Tues 17th Sep 2019 October 2019
Thurs 29th Aug 2019 Thurs 3rd Oct 2019 November 2019
Tues 1st Oct 2019 Tues 5th Nov Dec 2019 December2019
*Sat 7th Dec 2019 *Sat 14th Dec 2019 Jan - Feb 2020

* Weekend course. Shared lunch.
 
 
New parents who attend our antenatal classes form strong friendships as they go through this exciting new stage in life together. We help to set up coffee groups for the new mums to catch up and have a cuppa - and share what's happening with their new baby! And for the dads - the obligatory beer groups!

Waitemata Parents Centre provides services for parents living in and around Devonport, Takapuna, Milford, Forrest Hill, Castor Bay and Campbells Bay areas. If you reside outside of these areas please consider whether one of our other branches would be more convenient. Remember, your coffee group will be made up of other parents in this geographical area
(but you are still very welcome to join our centre).
Our classes are held at the St John's Building in Shea Terrace Takapuna.

Bookings For more information please email Bookings or phone 09 446 0959 and leave a message.


 

 

Website Design and Content Management System Powered by e-Cluster - Gisborne Web Design New Zealand
© Parents Centres New Zealand Inc.