Childbirth Education (Antenatal)



Our Antenatal classes prepare new parents physically and emotionally for the changes during pregnancy and labour.

Our courses are either held over 6 weeks (run once a week on a Tuesday, or Thursday evening) or, during the Christmas period, held over a few weekend days with a shared lunch. We hold classes regularly throughout the year.

Topics covered in the course include:
Signs of labour
The labour process
The role of the support person
Pain management
Infant feeding

Also included in the course is a Practical Parenting session (bathing baby, clothes to buy, different nappies, parent panel for questions and answers). North Shore hospital no longer operates tours of the maternity facilities, a virtual tour can now be viewed on-line here.

Our courses are very popular and fill up quickly, so please enquire early on in your pregnancy to ensure you secure a place.

 

Our dates for 2017/2018 are:

Course Start Date
Course End Date
Due Date Range
Tues 15th Aug 2017Tues 19th Sep 2017FULL
Thurs 31st Aug 2017Thurs 5th Oct 2017FULL
Tues 3rd Oct
2017
Tues 7th Nov 2017FULL
*Sat 2nd Dec 2017*Sat 9th Dec
2017
FULL
*Sat 13th Jan 2018*Sat 20th Jan 2018FULL
Tues 30th Jan 2018Tues 6th Mar 2018April 2018
Thurs 1st Mar 2018Thurs 5th Apr 2018May 2018
Tues 20th Mar 2018Tues 24th Apr 2018June 2018
Tues 8th May 2018Tues 12th Jun 2018July 2018
Thurs 7th Jun 2018Thurs 12th Jul 2018August 2018
Tues 26th Jun 2018Tues 31st Jul 2018September 2018
Tues 14th Aug 2018Tues 18th Sep 2018October 2018
Thurs 30th Aug 2018Thurs 4th Oct 2018November 2018
Tues 2nd Oct 2018Tues 6th Nov 2018December 2018
*Sat 1st Dec 2018*Sat 8th Dec 2018Jan - Feb 2019

* Weekend course. Shared lunch.


New parents who attend our antenatal classes form strong friendships as they go through this exciting new stage in life together. We help to set up coffee groups for the new mums to catch up and have a cuppa - and share what's happening with their new baby! And for the dads - the obligatory beer groups!

Waitemata Parents Centre provides services for parents living in and around Devonport, Takapuna, Milford, Forrest Hill, Castor Bay and Campbells Bay areas. If you reside outside of these areas please consider whether one of our other branches would be more convenient. Remember, your coffee group will be made up of other parents in this geographical area
(but you are still very welcome to join our centre).

Our classes are held at the St John's Building in Shea Terrace Takapuna.

For more information pleaseemailor phone446 0959and leave a message.



 

 

Website Design and Content Management System Powered by e-Cluster - Gisborne Web Design New Zealand
Parents Centres New Zealand Inc.